A Lenten Fast

As lent approaches, many Christians are (or should be) evaluating themselves in preparation for the Easter celebration. As of late, I have had a constant nagging about the use of my time. Yet, the reason why I dread “wasting” time is the repeated realization that during those hours I could have been “doing something better.” Pushed further, I saw that there dwells within me a constant desire to acquire knowledge. This is not bad in itself, but it does have its risks. Most notable is my desire to “stay on top” of things in various fields. Whether it be related to my studies, sports, or news in general, I want to be “in the know.” But is such knowledge necessary or even valuable? One could argue either way, but I have come to see my thirst for such knowledge to be rooted in a desire for (in Evagrian terms) vainglory and pride (pride here meaning the building up of oneself at the expense of another). So, with the exception of necessary activities related to school and the like, I shall once again be limiting my internet intake to a bare minimum (i.e., bye bye, blog). During that time while I try to live a more simple life, I hope to meditate on this idea: is holiness relevant?

3 thoughts on “A Lenten Fast

  1. would holiness ever not be relevant? Or, to ask a slightly different question, relevant to what? Do you have a sneaky thought in the back of your mind about Robb Bell or something?

  2. Since it’s not Lent yet, I can still reply. 🙂

    1) I left the question vague to incite reflection, so I won’t say much else.

    2) I’m not thinking of Rob Bell specifically, but as I tried to show in the rest of my post, my own striving to be “in-the-know” in various subjects. I.e., to be “relevant” to all people in all situations. By doing this, I a) avoid looking stupid for not knowing something that “I’m supposed to know,” and b) look smart and gain people’s admiration (and thus gain authority/power). That is, vainglory and pride. Such knowledge, some will argue, can be used for good. I grant that, but I’m finding it’s not worth the time and effort when I have other responsibilities to which I must attend. Saying all of that, though, may hint at what I think about your first two questions.

  3. Actually, it is Lent already. What are you, Western or something? 🙂 Speaking of holiness, you should come visit us on Sundays and see the services (throughout the week too).

    Hmm. I think I would offer the following thought on your reflection topic: holiness is relevant, in all subject matters and in every situation, in that what it is and means for US to become holy is the putting on of Christ. Was it Athanasius who said that what Christ did not assume He did not save? So, in like manner, what does not become holy in our lives is not saved (for, what is salvation but the making holy of what was not before?). Therefore, every aspect of life must become holy and be saved, and that includes our speech and knowledge, and the way we use them. I thank God that I don’t have to do all this during my lifetime here on this earth, but it is easier for us if we can become like Christ as much as possible now. (something like purgation is not pleasant but nevertheless is necessary).

    Still speaking of holiness, I’ve been meaning to go to the monastery sometime soon; perhaps when it warms up a bit-May. I would like you to come.

Leave a Reply

