LSJ on TLG

I loved Perseus when I first found out about it. At that time, I didn’t have LSJ (Liddell & Scott, the classical Greek dictionary), so translating works outside the range of BDAG (Baur, Danker, Arndt, and Gingrich, the Greek dictionary for the New Testament/Apostolic Fathers) was difficult. Though I do have LSJ now, I find a digital (and consequently searchable) lexicon to be my preferred choice. Now (as I first saw on Roger Pearse’s blog) TLG (Thesaurus Linguae Graecae, an online database of searchable and tagged of almost every work from antiquity written in Greek) has produced their own digital version of LSJ, and it looks amazing! The interface is clean and easy to use, and the best part is–it’s free! (note: one has to pay to us TLG, and it’s not cheap). I still will use Perseus’ parsing tool for those troublesome words, but I’m definitely switching to TLG. TLG can save you 15 minutes or more on your translation! 🙂

Leave a Reply

