New Books Day, pt 4

It’s a nice feeling to come home to some new books every day. Here’s the ones I got today.

  • In the Wilderness: The Doctrine of Defilement in the Book of Numbers by Mary Douglas (OTII: Pentateuch)
  • The World of the Desert Fathers by Columba Stewart, OSB (Prayer and Spirituality in the Early Church)

In the Wilderness looks interesting because I have been curious about the OT concept of defilement, what it means, and how it relates to the concept of sin. The second one, The World of the Desert Fathers, also looks good. All of the copies available on Amazon were too expensive so I purchased this one directly form the publisher, Cistercian Publications our of Kalamazoo, MI. It was much cheaper, but the shipping was $7.00 (it’s not that big of a book). When I received it today, it was in a gigantic package. While Cistercian Publications puts out a lot of good material on the Early Church and Monasticism, I don’t know why in the world they decided to charge me $7.00 by using a package that was unnecessarily large for the book I ordered. Well, it was still cheaper than any copy on Amazon (with the shipping), so I guess I can’t complain.

Leave a Reply

