A Hymn of Charles Wesley

Son of God, if thy free grace
Again hath raised me up,
Called me still to seek they face,
And given me back my hope;
Still they timely help afford,
And all thy loving-kindness show;
Keep me, keep me, gracious Lord,
And never let me go.

By me, O my Savior, stand
In sore temptation’s hour;
Save me with thine outstretched hand,
And show forth all thy power;
Oh, be mindful of thy word,
Thy all-sufficient grace bestow;
Keep me, keep me, gracious Lord,
And never let me go.

Give me, Lord, a holy fear,
And fix it in my heart,
That I may from evil near
With timely care depart.
Sin be no more than hell abhorred
Till thou destroy the tyrant foe;
Keep me, keep me, gracious Lord,
And never let me go.

Never let me leave thy breast,
From thee, my Savior, stray;
Thou art my support and rest,
My true and living way,
My exceeding great reward,
In heaven above, and earth below;
Keep me, keep me, gracious Lord,
And never let me go.

A Hymn of Charles Wesley in John and Charles Wesley: Selected Writings and Hymns (New York: Paulist Press, 1981), 194-195.

Leave a Reply

