Cambridge Companion to C. S. Lewis

Stumbled across this today:

The Cambridge Companion to C. S. Lewis

Here is the description from Amazon:

A distinguished academic, influential Christian apologist, and best-selling author of children’s literature, C. S. Lewis is a controversial and enigmatic figure who continues to fascinate, fifty years after his death. This Companion is the first comprehensive single-volume study written by an international team of scholars to survey Lewis’s career as a literary historian, popular theologian, and creative writer. Twenty-one expert voices from Oxford, Cambridge, Princeton, and Wheaton, among many other places of learning, analyze Lewis’s work from theological, philosophical, and literary perspectives. Some chapters consider his professional contribution to fields such as critical theory and intellectual history, while others assess his views on issues including moral knowledge, gender, prayer, war, love, suffering, and Scripture. The final chapters investigate his work as a writer of fiction and poetry. Original in its approach and unique in its scope, this Companion shows that C. S. Lewis was much more than merely the man behind Narnia.

Now the only problem is trying to find time to read it.

6 thoughts on “Cambridge Companion to C. S. Lewis

  1. I like that Michael Ward is one of the editors, he’s a solid guy and a good C.S. Lewis-ist. The only problem I have with the description is the word “enigmatic.” Lewis seems to me to be the least puzzling writer I know. There seems to be few mysteries regarding either his life or works which would justify the word “enigmatic.”

    • Hey Travis. What a pleasant surprise it is to have the first comment come from a fellow Spring Arbor-ite. Hope all is going well.

      I suppose enigmatic is meant to convey a sense of mystery which will entice the shopper to purchase the book in order to discover what was enigmatic about him and how some scholar has solved the enigma.

      • I graduated in 2009. I think we met a couple times, one of which was when I visited the Kierkegaard class because I was rooming with Don. I think the discussion was on Fear and Trembling and afterward there was a short debate over inclusivism (I was taking the exclusivist position). I don’t know if you would even remember such an obscure moment, but it’s the only one I can think of.

        Unfortunately, I do not have facebook account (anymore), otherwise I would.

Leave a Reply

