Some Noteworthy Lectures

A good set of lectures is absolutely necessary if one, like myself, has a 45 minute commute to school/work. It is for this reason that I was excited to stumble upon this nice little collection. This is actually where I first found Dr. Ferguson’s Papatheofanis lecture which I posted a couple days ago. It is a good collection of resources from across the theological spectrum, though some of them do not work and not all are download-able (i.e., streaming video). Nonetheless, I wanted to point out two that I have been recently enjoying. The first is a series of lectures by Dr. Mark A. Noll called “Eighteenth Century Origins of Evangelicalism” (note: this link will take you directly to site where the lectures are hosted. Click on “2000-2009,” and then “2000: Mark A. Noll to find the links). This is a must for any Evangelical because the Achilles heal of Evangelicalism is that they do not know their own history (though some may dispute that this is the only problem). I once asked my academic adviser at the seminary how to teach Evangelical’s their own history and he replied that you can’t. At least, this was his experience in West Michigan (and I must say that I am beginning to agree with him). To this disease I offer the remedy of Dr. Noll.

The other set of lectures I enjoyed were by Dr. John Polkinghorne on “Natural Theology.” (note: this link will take you directly to the Parchman Endowed Lectures site which just lists are the lectures available chronologically, Polkinghorne’s lectures were given in 2002). Now, I’m no scientist, but I love learning about the natural world and Dr. Polkinghorne’s lectures have only increased that sense of wonder. Not all will agree with his conclusions about God’s foreknowledge (spoiler: he takes a similar position to Open Theism), but his explanation of prayer in light of this was encouraging to me, a person who so easily reads the prayers of Church History but himself struggles to pray. I also enjoy how Polkinghorne, similar to Torrance, attempt to bring together Science and Theology in light of quantum theory. I don’t know how much fruit such an endeavor will produce (good or bad), but I do think this trend will continue to grow and I am interested to see where it ends up.

Enjoy.

-Edit-
I think I’ll just link all the lectures here to make it easier.

Dr. Mark A. Noll

Dr. John Polkinghorne

Leave a Reply

